Executive Vice President Toshiya Ueki participates in the RENKEI Steering Committee Meeting

On January 27, RENKEI members held their Steering Committee Meeting, at which Tohoku University was represented by Executive Vice President Toshiya Ueki.

RENKEI (Japan-UK Research and Education Network for Knowledge Economy Initiatives) is a bilateral university network of 12 universities, 6 each from Japan and the UK, which aims to strengthen cooperation between member universities and industry in areas such as joint research, knowledge transfer, and the development of talented individuals. The network is also working to create a framework that will help nurture leaders for our future societies. The member universities are currently focusing their attention of the themes of “Climate Change” and “Health.”

RENKEI’s Steering Committee Meeting, held annually, offers the vice presidents and other executives from member universities the opportunity to meet to discuss future plans and courses of action. This year, the meeting was held online and was attended by about 40 people from both the Japanese and British member universities.

Reports were presented on research activities related to climate change, for which two workshops were held in the past academic year, and on the status of the workshop on health, which was postponed due to the spread of COVID-19. In addition, following a financial status report from the British Council, which acts as RENKEI’s secretariat, representatives of the member universities exchanged opinions on themes to be considered by RENKEI in the future.

Future plans include the holding of a research workshop, organized by Nagoya University, on the theme of Health from May to June this year.




  Name: Japan-UK Research and Education Network for Knowledge Economy Initiatives (RENKEI)

  Established in: 2012 (Tohoku University is one of founding members.)

  Member Institutions: 12 Universities from Japan and the UK
(Japan) Tohoku University, Nagoya University, Kyoto University, Osaka University, Kyushu University, Ritsumeikan University
(UK) University of Edinburgh, University of Leeds, University of Liverpool, Newcastle University, University of Nottingham, University of Southampton

The British Council acts as the network’s secretariat.